ICCA Presents Award to Former Opera Board President & CR Opera & AAMI for Collaboration Award

November 09, 2016

Many congratulations to Kathy Hall, former Cedar Rapids Opera Theatre board president for being named the 2016 Iowa Cultural Corridor Alliance (ICCA) Peggy Whitworth Award recipient. The award recognizes community members who have exemplified passion, commitment, and advocacy to the cultural vitality of the Corridor.

At the ICCA event Cedar Rapids Opera Theatre won the the 2016 Iowa Cultural Corridor Alliance Collaborative Award with the African American Museum of Iowa for "Carefully Taught - A Performance and Discussion about Inclusion and the Arts", our June 2016 event at the AAMI with singers from the CR Opera Theatre production of “South Pacific” and a panel of distinguished area artists.

Ms. Hall was honored at ICCA’s annual Celebration of the Arts event on Tuesday, November 15 at Hancher Auditorium, where the Collaborative Award was also presented.

Photo above (l to r), Jennifer Schulte, Cedar Rapids Opera Theatre Executive Director and LaNisha Cassell, African American Museum of Iowa Deputy Director receive the ICCA Collaborative Award at the Nov 15 ICCA event at Hancher Auditiorium

Above two images: “South Pacific” Cedar Rapids Opera Theatre Young Artists and “Carefully Taught” panelists Eloy Barragán, Bill Fabris, F. John Herbert, Micah Ariel James, Dr. Rachel Williams, with moderator Krystal Gladden, AAMI Museum Educator at the African American Museum of Iowa, June 2016. Photos by James Caldwell.

Share with DiggShare with del.icio.usShare with FacebookShare with StumbleUponShare with reddit